Friday, September 21, 2018
Kashmir Times Logo
Sports News
Abdul Gani of Punjab lifts 11th Udhampur Dangal Title-2018
JAMMU, Jul 10: Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab defeated Wrestler Sonu of Kangra in Himachal Pradesh in a neck to neck contest that lasted for 18 minutes and lifted 11th Udhampur Dangal

Title. The Dangal was organised by Fruit and Vegetables Vendors Union Udhampur in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Subash Stadium Udhampur.

In all 40 bouts were played in this one day long Dangal. The winner of main bout first malli Abdul Gani awarded with a cash prize of Rs 51,000 by MLA Udhampur Pawan Kumar Gupta in presence of

Deputy Commissioner Udhampur Ravinder Kumar, SSP Udhampur Rayyees Bhat, Joint Secretary J&K State Sports Council Shiv Kumar Sharma and ASP Madam Tabassum. The runners-up, Wrestler Sonu received Rs 20,000 cash prize from D.SP Kulbir Handa, Yash Paul Gupta (President), Sham Lal Atri and Retd. Sub Inspector Kirpal Singh.

MLA Udhampur Pawan gupta was the chief guest on the occasion who witnessed the whole event and encouraged the youths who participated in these types of rural Sports. He also distributed cash prizes of Rs 2,50,000 among Wrestlers.

Joint Secretary J&K State Sports Council Shiv Kumar Sharma who is also Treasurer of Indian style Wrestling Association of India, President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Associate Vice President Wrestling Federation of India and President Senior Citizens Welfare Forum Katra (Regd.) presided over the function.

Deputy Commissioner Udhampur Ravinder Kumar, SSP Udhampur Rayees Bhat, ASP Madam Tabassum, D.SP Kulbir Handa and President Baopar Mandal Udhampur Surinder Singh Khalsa were the guests of honour. Raj Kumar Bucha was also present on the occasion.

Meanwhile, in the second bout Sub Inspector International Wrestler Manna of Zirkarpur in Chandigarh defeated Wrestler Nisar of J&K Police, resident of Doda. 3rd malli bout ended in a draw

between Ajay Sharma and Dinesh of Zirkarpur (Chandigarh). 4th bout also ended a draw between Vikas of Harayana and Mohd. Talab of Mallerkotla.

Members & Technical officials who helped for conduct of this dangal included Yash Paul Gupta (President), Hans Raj Thakur (Chairman), Sham Lal Atri, Rajesh Kumar, Om Parkash, Rattan Lal, Dev

Raj, Rajinder Kumar, Om Parkash Verma, Kulbir, Deepak Anand, Mohd. Fareed, Laxhman Singh Katoch, Tulinder Kumar, Lehar Singh and Murli Dhar (Munna).

The details: (Women Wrestling Bouts):- Archan of Rohtak (Haryana) beat Poonam of Railways, Pooja of Rohtak in Harayana beat Kajal of B.S.F, Archan of Rohtak also beat Kajal of B.S.F and Pooja of

Rohtak beat Poonam of Railways. Men Wrestling Bouts:- Sagar of Meerut beat Babbu of Basantgarh,

Parveen of Delhi beat Chain Singh of Reasi, Subash Chander of Chopra Shop beat Vir Singh of J&K Police of Reasi, Murad Ali of Jammu beat Chand of Patti, Sonu of Delhi beat Kulbir Singh of Mahore, Amir of Mallerkotla beat Laikat of bajrangi Akhara Jammu, Kalu of Battal Ballian beat Sunil of Kawa, Balwan Singh of J&k Police Reasi beat Jatinder of Patti, Muneer Khan of Nagrota beat Rinku of Zirkapur, Jiwan of Rajasthan beat Laikat Ali of Panthal and Asif of Dansal beat

Dheeraj of Jungalgali.

Shiv Kumar Sharma complimented the organizers for holding this mega Wrestling event efficiently which is a regular feature for last 11 years. Hans Raj Thakur presented vote of thanks. Sharma assured every possible assistance in organizing Vishal Dangal.

News Updated at : Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Comment on this Story 

Top Stories of the Day  
KEA’s protest against civilians’ killings
SRINAGAR, Jul 10: Kashmir Economic Alliance (KEA) headed by Farooq Ahmad Dar, today held token protest at city centre Lal Chowk here against unabated civilian killings at the hands of government forces in Kashmir. Chanting slogans “stop genocide of innocent civilians”, dozens KEA members led by their Chairman, Farooq Ahmad Dar assembled at Lal Chowk and held protest against what they termed genocide of Kashmiri people. The KEA members while condemning killing of youth by government forces app
> Militant’s father dies of heart attack
> APDP stages sit-in protest
> Summer vacations in schools from July 19
> Centre asks J&K to take action against Faesal for tweet
> 10th batch of 5144 pilgrims leaves Jammu for Amarnath
Other Stories from Web  
Find us on
Weather Report
Shridev Sharma
Mata Vaishnodevi | Matavaishnodevi | Mata Vaishno Devi
Electric Blanket | Electric Bed Warmers | Electric Under Blankets | Electric Heating Blanket
Web Design Jammu, Web Design Company, Ideogram Jammu
Home | Contact Us | Kashmir Times | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Jammu | Kashmir Times E-Paper - Srinagar | Dainik Kashmir Times | Jammu Prabhat
Copyright 2013 Kashmir Times Group. All rights reserved. Powered by Ideogram Technology Solutions Pvt. Ltd.