Congress holds protest, submits memorandum on Rafale deal

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 9/5/2018 10:56:41 PM

JAMMU, Sep 5: Accusing the Modi government of Keeping the country in dark over Rafale deal, JKPCC Chief GA Mir questioned BJP-led government for procuring each Rafale fighter at a cost of over Rs 1,670 crore against Rs 526 crore finalized by the previous UPA government.
“The prime minister should come forward and tell the country about the cost of Rafale deal. The time has come to seek answers from the BJP-led central government,” Mir said.
He was speaking to Congress workers holding protest demonstration against Rafale deal seeking JPC probe into the matter alleging biggest ever defense scam.
Led by AICC Secretary In-charge J&K Shakeel Ahmad MLA & President JKPCC GA Mir, a large number of senior Congress leaders and workers held a protest demonstration at Shaheedi Chowk here and marched towards the office of DC Jammu raising slogans seeking JPC probe into the Rafale deal.
The protest march was organized by DCC Jammu Urban under the presidentship of Vikram Malhotra & DCC Jammu Rural led by its President Hari Singh Chib & incharge Vice-President PCC Raman Bhalla, a large number of senior leaders took part in the protest march including leaders of DCC, Block Presidents, Ex-Ministers, Ex-Legislators and Frontal Organizations of the party. They also submitted a memorandum to president of India through DC Jammu, seeking JPC probe into this defense scam.
JKPCC chief said that “This protest was an expression of the mounting frustration felt by the people of India and complete failure of the government on the pressing issues of not only malpractice in the Rafale deal, but also unemployment, inflation, farmers exploitation.
“Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Defense Minister Nirmala Sitharaman have lied to the country by keeping it in the dark over the Rafale deal. The agreement has no clause requiring the government to keep the price of the deal hidden, but only the technicalities of the fighter jets. The government is trying to hide a scam worth ?41,000 crore,” Mir said.
He said the agreement signed during the United Progressive Alliance regime in December 2012 stated that the cost of one Rafale jet is ?526 crore and the total cost of 36 jets works out to ?18,940 crore. The cost of one jet under the Modi government, though, is ?1670.70 crore, which is almost 300% higher than the earlier deal. “The current deal does not share the technology with India, whereas the deal made by the Congress emphasized that,” he said.
Mir further said that, “What led to allotment of this contract to Reliance Defence, a newly-formed company with no experience whatsoever in making defence planes, over a firm like Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd, which has been in this industry for years? According to the law, the Standing Committee on Defense and the Comptroller and Auditor General should be informed about any such deal being signed by the government. The fact that Mr. Modi and the Defense Minister have decided to keep the price under wraps raises strong questions. Mir maintained. "The Rafale deal is a clear example of promoting the culture of crony capitalism at the cost of Public Sector Undertaking (PSU)," he said.
The defence minister is saying she will not inform India, the Indian martyrs and their relatives about the money spent on buying those aircraft. What does this mean? The senior Congress leader alleged that Anil Ambani had floated the company 12 days before the contract was signed and Modi played crucial role in the Reliance company securing the ?61,000-crore deal. He said awarding such important deal to an inexperienced company would tantamount to weakening the Defense sector. Mir said despite repeated demands by All India Congress Committee president Rahul Gandhi for a comprehensive probe into the deal with the French company assault, the Modi government was silent and wondered what Modi’s silence meant.
Those participated in the protest march included Former Dy CM Tara Chand, Ex-MP Madan Lal Sharma, Former Minister and Vice-President PCC Mula Ram, RS Chib, Kanta Bhan, Ravinder Sharma, Rajnish Sharma, Balwan Singh, Yogesh Sawhney, Th. Manmohan Singh, Namrata Sharma, Ch Shah Nawaz, Indu Pawar, Th. Shiv Dev Singh, Ch. Gharu Ram, Prof Gharu Ram Bhagat, YV Sharma, KL Gupta, Kuldeep Raj Verma, Vinod Sharma, SS Shangari, Shiv Kumar Sharma (INTUC), Gurdarshan Singh, Pawan Raina, Shashi Sharma, Neeraj Gupta, Manjeet Singh Jatt, Sukhdev Choudhary, Suresh Bargotra, Jai Singh, Ch. Dwarka, Vijay Malhotra, Gourav Chopra, Madan Lal Mlager, Dr. Ramakant Khajuria, Mian Nazir Ahmad, Nassar Masih, Michal Wazir, Kamlesh Basih, Som Dutt Sharma, Hoshiar Singh, Ricky Dalotra and others.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope